Recently, we introduced you to the datAhur BT Flash Drive. This is not only an encrypted data storage device, but has the ability to be unlocked by using your iPhone/iPad, (read our full review here).
Disclosure: Apple Tech Talk participates in various affiliate marketing programs and may receive compensation if you purchase a product through one of our links, and/or in the form of product donations from the companies whose products we review . Unless otherwise specifically stated, Apple Tech Talk does not receive any other compensation for its reviews. The opinions expressed are based solely on our independent testing, are our own and are not shared with anyone prior to release on our site.
One of the features built in to the datAshur BT is the ability to have the drive automatically wiped of all data should the drive be lost or stolen. When we did our initial testing, we had some confusion as to how the remote wipe feature could worked. Since you no longer had the drive in your possession, you couldn’t unlock it to get to the settings and activate the remote wipe function.
Following our review, we talked with the folks at iStorage, makers of the datAshur BT, and they reviewed how the remote wipe function works.
The mistake we made was thinking that when you activate the remote wipe function, the drive would be automatically wiped the next time it was plugged in to a USB port. As it turns out, turning on the remote wipe feature on the datAshur BT app is only the first part of the process. Even when turned on, the drive continues to operate normally. You can connect the drive, unlock it and add and remove data, just as you would if that feature was turned off.
The remote wipe only happens if you trigger it from within the app, which can be done, even without having the drive in your possession.
While the process for remote wipe if fairly easy and straight-forward, it is probably a little hard to describe without sounding confusing. Instead, we have prepared a short video that illustrates how the remote wipe feature of the datAshur BT works.
As you can see, the remote wipe feature is perfectly safe to enable. It has no impact on the day-to-day use of the drive and can be easily launched once you discover the drive is lost or stolen.
Like the other iStorage devices, we think people will use the dataShur BT because they are carrying or sharing sensitive information. Turning on the remote wipe function adds another layer of protection and is a feature we recommend turning on, as soon as you start using the drive.
The datAshure BT is available from Amazon.
What do you think of the remote wipe feature? Is it something you would use with the datAshur BT? Do you think it should be turned on by default when the datAshur BT is taken out of the package? Why not join the conversation and leave a comment below?
If you liked this article, please consider sharing it with your friends and leaving a comment below. Also, don’t forget to “Like” us on Facebook, “Follow Us” on Twitter and add the Apple Tech Talk channel to your Apple News app.
And if you haven’t subscribed to Apple Tech Talk, now would be a great time to do it so. Just scroll down to the form below and enter your name and email address. Then you’ll receive a notification whenever we post new articles. Don’t worry, we never sell or share your information. While you’re at it, check out our YouTube channel (here) where you will find video on interesting products any Apple enthusiast would love.
Leave a Comment